because there is such a thing as being too trendy.

Goodbye plaid........................for now.

Goodbye plaid........................for now.

Okay so theres about three phases of a trend:

  • When you see someone random wearing the most avant garde outfit and you think to yourself, you can never pull that off (i.e. the trend setter).
  • Then when a designer starts using it as inspiration for his new line and gives you all these ideas on how to wear it.  You all of a sudden see multiple celebrities wearing’em. You’re annoyed at its popularity but you still wear it coz you know it looks good on you, and if its something totally crazy, its the only time you get away with it. (hello? padded shoulders???)
  • Then this is where it dies. When all of your friends seem to have one, even the one that doesn’t really like dressing up. You know when you go clubbing? And there are these group of girls you think are pretentious and just plain annoying? You know that trend has died when one of em is wearing it, thinking she’s all that and a bag of potato chips. When ALL of the department stores have their own cheap versions of it…..worse when you find it in EVERY stall at Greenhills.

The best way to go is to not follow whats “hip”, who knows? YOU could be setting the upcoming trend. I mean shop at SM or Greenhills or wherever you get your cheap thrills, I know I do, but buy the ones you don’t see very often. The unique pieces that took you forever to find, and you could be proud of for buying it in such a low price. I personally do not ride on trends and would rather wear something many people would not even like. But when I love something, it takes me awhile to get over it no matter how corny its starting to look.

When EVERYONE starts wearing the same thing…maybe its time for you to avoid the flow and start a wave?

plaid dress: freeway, belt: vintage, metallic gray booties, clutch: vintage gucci

plaid dress: freeway, belt: vintage, metallic gray booties, clutch: vintage gucci

I know the plaid trend is already way WAY out but I loved it and it took me awhile to get over it. Buuuut I have to put it back to storage for awhile coz its not cute anymore. Hahah. Its one thing to wear something OF the moment but wearing something THAT JUST GOT OFF it is a whole different story.

I bid you farewell my favorite boyfriend plaid shirts. I’ll resurect you again in a year or two when I’m not so last season and I’m not anymore IN season=D

2 thoughts on “because there is such a thing as being too trendy.

Leave a Reply

