what’s beautiful is not restricted to where you live or what you already know

xx

beanie: hurley, dress: american apparel, necklace: from a bazaar, sling bag: betsey johnson, peep toe booties

So I received a message from my facebook inbox today, and it goes:

Hi Ericke!

I’m Angela. I saw you through LookBook, and I’m amazed by how you pull off all those looks- you really have a supreme fashion sense.
I understood even from looking at your page how you can powerfully express your individual style and beauty, never mind that the site is a fashion community demographically dominated by Westerners. Simply put, you stand out. That’s why I perceive you would contribute hugely to a study I’m doing.

It’s about women like you who have powerful resonating voices over the internet- those girls who have a high command in fashion and communicate their own definition of beauty. You’re making waves on lookbook and I don’t doubt if it’s the same way offline. I would be so pleased if you let me ask you a few questions:

What led you to starting a Lookbook account like this?
What are your goals in establishing the account?
What reactions did you get?
How do you choose the content you put in your page? What are your considerations?
How did having the Betty A. LookBook account affect the way you understand your own beauty?
How did your interaction with the people who commented affect/change/shape the way you understand what is beautiful?
How do you think did the account help or shape your concept of a beautiful woman?
Thank you so much, Ericke. I’m looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Ella
Someone who’d be forever grateful.

Here are my answers:

i’ll be more than happy to help! =]

What led you to starting a Lookbook account like this?
One of my online friends left me a comment on multiply telling me I should definitely join chictopia or lookbook. So I checked both sites and opted for lookbook. I was very hesitant at first, I mean I’m no model, fashion designer nor a stylist. I don’t really do anything, I’m just a student who happens to love beautiful things. But I was bored. so Tada! Heheh..

What are your goals in establishing the account?
Not so much of “goals” really, I just like having fun with it, I like to communicate with people who have the same tastes as I do, better yet, to have interesting feedback from people with different taste in fashion.

What reactions did you get?
I usually get a lot of comments telling me most of my outfits are summer outfits =) well considering the weather here in Ilocos, I dont have that many options. Oh and I never realized I have such photogenic legs!

How do you choose the content you put in your page? What are your considerations?
I try to update my lookbook every chance I get. I upload whatever I’m wearing that day as long as I haven’t uploaded that outfit yet. There’s not really much thought put in to it. As for considerations, I try to upload pictures that are striking. I noticed that in lookbook, the whole concept of the picture grabs more attention, you can have the best outfit but with a weak picture it wont get you as much hypes as it will do if you have a rocking photo.

How did having the LookBook account affect the way you understand your own beauty?
Whats beautiful is not restricted to where you live or what you already know. I’m beautiful because I am open to change and growth but still stay true to my own style.

How did your interaction with the people who commented affect/change/shape the way you understand what is beautiful?
I don’t know about “change”, but their comments made my belief in comfortable clothes even stronger, you can wear all the trends you want but even in your pictures it will show if you’re comfortable in what you’re wearing, otherwise it will just look like you’re trying too hard, and that’s not very stylish.

How do you think did the account help or shape your concept of a beautiful woman?
Having a lookbook account gave me proof that the things that make us different are really what make us special. That these should be used as a tool to stand out, whether that’s a body part or a different taste in style. Even if they tell you how crazy you look, a beautiful woman knows what looks good on her, and is never scared to flaunt it. Subtle confidence is powerful and will always reflect on a woman’s true beauty and style.

Thank you for choosing me as one of your subjects Ella. Good luck.

3 thoughts on “what’s beautiful is not restricted to where you live or what you already know

  1. Hello there! i read about you on a magazine and since then i look forward to more of your posts on lookbook.. i’m already 25 but i don’t dress well, coz i thought dressing up is just for tall girls, i stand just almost 5’2, like 5’1 1/2?..and that was my reason of having no interest to dress nice.. i totally agree with Ella, i’m such a fan of you, coz you can pull off those looks without any effort on the camera too, you look so full of confidence..ugh i wish i can dress up like you..by the way, do you mind if ask you what’s your height? i’m just interested to know..i hope you don’t mind.. thanks and i hope to get a reply from you soon..God bless-Larue 🙂

    • oh god you and me both sister! hahah i’m 5’3 and i would do anything to be taller!! plus i have a weird body type, big hips, small upper body. but its all good, you just have to find what fits you best. =) thank you so much for reading my blog and for your kind words =]

      oh and btw love what magazine are you talking about? maybe its online =)

Leave a Reply

