the many lives of an “ukay” dress part 1

Urban Dictionary defines “ukay-ukay” as a term used for places that sell secondhand goods (such as clothing, shoes, bags, furniture, etc.) at dirt cheap prices usually shipped from the US Salvation Army to third world countries like the Philippines. Seriously, most of my favorite items are from the local thrift stores. Because I am a certified thriftwhore I decided it would be fun to show you guys my way of reincarnating old dresses.

DSC_0126copysmall[dress: thrifted, bag: louis vuitton, chains: dv, ring: pinkbox, heels: balenciaga]DSC_0124copysmall

So this is part 1, I bought this dress exactly how it looks like in the pictures. Multiple chains, layered bangles, buckled heels and a silver chain bag made it more modern. Part 2 is on the way, I still need to have the dress altered. The length is cute but I’m short and I like to show some leg.
DSC_0127copysmall
DSC_0129copysmall

Oh and in case any of you were wondering, this is what I drive, an old, busted, rusting, paint peeling 1982 land cruiser. My dad loves anything vintage. I rock old clothes, and he loves to resurrect old cars.

7 thoughts on “the many lives of an “ukay” dress part 1

  1. You’re too cute! I love how you rocked that vintage dress. I go to Ilocos every summer too because my boyfriend is there and it’s so hard to dress up because I look out of place! It would be nice to meet you haha!

    • aww thanks! i totally know what you mean! hahah i sometimes have to tone it down a little. well you should let me know when you come here. where do you usually stay? i mean which part of ilocos? it’d be fun to meet up…=]

  2. I stay at my aunt’s house in Currimao. I believe you live in Laoag right? We always go there to meet up with friends. I’ll let you know when I’m around the area. 🙂

Leave a Reply

